AMP News Education Technology

Results of Third Annual All-Region Coding Competition Announced


The winners of third annual Arkansas All-Region Coding competition have been announced.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson and the Arkansas Department of Education released the 17 teams that have been selected to participate in the Third Annual All-State Coding Competition on May 18 at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.

“Congratulations to the 17 teams heading to Fayetteville in May to compete in the Third Annual Governor’s All-State Coding Competition!” Hutchinson said. “Each year since I partnered with the Arkansas Department of Education to announce the first All-Region and All-State Coding Competitions, Arkansas students have risen to meet the challenge. I am proud of the creativity and innovation that our students showcase year after year in this competition, and I am confident that the teams this year will be no exception.

Members of the first-place team will receive a $2,000 award that will be deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan. Members of the second-place team will receive a $1,000 award deposited in a 529 College Savings Plan, and the third-place team members will receive a $500 award.

Additionally, the schools sponsoring the first, second and third-place winners will receive $10,000, $6,000, and $4,000, respectively to fund computer science programs.

The 17 teams selected for the competition are:

  • Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts – William Shaver, Karsen Beck, and Noah Raby
  • Cabot High School – Cody Billingsley, Ethan Peck, and Stanley Van
  • Conway High School – Archer Murray, Hunter Fleming, and Jonathon Hopkins
  • Don Tyson School of Innovation – James Cassady, Benjamin Easterling, and Abigail Herrera
  • Fayetteville High School – Jan Bobda Tagne, Andrew Ritter, and Lucas Faupel
  • Gentry High School Conversion Charter – Matthew Anderson, Jonathan Brinkley, and Carson Stell
  • Greenwood High School – Ryan Stracener, William Hutchinson, and Shea Brown
  • Haas Hall Academy – Rogers – Lucas Jaggernauth, Bradley Baltz, and Austin Parker
  • Haas Hall Academy – Fayetteville – Daniel Whitmire, Julian Sanker, and Owen Bell
  • Horatio High School – Hannah Norman, Duncan Connor, and Jacob Brecheisn
  • Little Rock Central High School – Zhaoying Li, Hetvi Shah, and Anne Li
  • Rogers Heritage High School – Allyson Hayes, Luis Guerra, and Adam Siwiec
  • Rogers High School – Garrett Chrisman, Brady Self, and Jack Norris
  • Rogers New Technology High School – David Daniel and Westley Taylor
  • Russellville High School – Michael O’Connor, Michael Draughon, and Xin Zhang
  • Spring Hill High School – Muhammad Athallah, Nick Yates, and Shay Stout
  • Valley View High School – Luke Wilson, Isaac La Ferney, and Alex Hoffman

READ MORE: Youth Entrepreneurship: The Top of the Funnel

Leave a Comment