AMP News Business People

Four Leaders to be Inducted into the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame in 2019


Four Arkansas leaders will be inducted into the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame in 2019.

These four business leaders have had significant impacts on their industries, which include the canning, protein, finance and petroleum industries, as well as their communities. Due to the contributions they have made, they will be inducted into Hall of Fame on Friday, Feb. 8, 2019.

The University of Arkansas’ Sam M. Walton College of Business and the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame Board recently announced that the following individuals will be inducted into the Hall of Fame:

  • Claiborne P. Deming, retired president and chief executive officer and current chairman of the board, Murphy Oil Corporation.
  • The late Joe M. Steele, founder, Steele Canning Company and the Springdale Canning Company.
  • Warren A. Stephens, chairman, president and chief executive officer, Stephens Inc.
  • The late John W. Tyson, founder and former chief executive officer, Tyson Foods.

In a University of Arkansas press release, Walton College dean Matt Waller praised the choice of the four business leaders. “These leaders have shaped Arkansas with their sense of community and entrepreneurial spirit,” he says. “Their contributions reach beyond our state’s borders, while creating lucrative opportunities for Arkansans.”

According to the UA press release, candidates for the Arkansas Business Hall of Fame must meet a series of criteria, including having made a significant impact as a business leader, demonstrating concern for improving their community and demonstrating strong ethics in business. Living candidates are required to be over the age of 60.

The induction ceremony will be held at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock on Friday, Feb. 8, 2019. The Arkansas Business Hall of Fame is housed in the atrium of the Donald W. Reynolds Center for Enterprise Development at the Walton College of Business at the University of Arkansas’ Fayetteville campus.

Tickets to the Hall of Fame induction ceremony are available for $150 per person. The event is black-tie optional. For more information, contact the Walton College Office of External Relations by calling 479-575-6146 or by e-mailing

A list of previous Arkansas Business Hall of Fame inductees is available here.

RELATED: Read out latest issue of AMP

Leave a Comment