AMP News Business People

Joe Stanley Awarded AIA Arkansas’ Highest Honor


One Little Rock architect was recently presented with a top award for excellence by the American Institute of Architects’ Arkansas Chapter.

Joe stanley

Joe Stanley

Joe Stanley, AIA, founding principal of Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects, was awarded the E. Fay Jones Gold Medal Award at the AIA Arkansas State Convention in October.

Over the course of his 46-year career, Stanley has overseen the design and construction of over 600 commissions of facilities, ranging in type, size and complexity, in Arkansas, Tennessee and Oklahoma

According to the AIA website, the purpose of the E. Fay Jones Gold Medal Award is to recognize architects who have “demonstrated touchstones of excellence through artistic vision and design, leadership and service to the State of Arkansas and the AIA Arkansas Chapter.” The award is the highest honor the Arkansas AIA Chapter can bestow on one of its members.

Multiple architects were also honored with awards during the Hot Springs convention. These awards include the Dick Savage Award, the Emerging Professional Award and the Award of Merit.


Joe stanley

Thad R. Kelly III

Thad R. Kelly III, AIA, was the recipient of the Dick Savage Award, which honors an AIA Arkansas member who has made significant contributions to the AIA chapter and the profession of architecture. Kelly is the principal of StudioFive Architecture Landscape Interior LLC in Fayetteville and Master Builder Architects LLC.

Joe stanley

Lori Yazwinski Santa-Rita

The Emerging Professional Award went to Lori Yazwinski Santa-Rita, AIA, LEED AP, who is a partners at Jennings + Santa-Rita Architects in Fayetteville. The Emerging Professional Award “recognizes a new professional who has expanded the role of the architect through civic participation and professional mentorship,” according to a press release.

The Award of Merit was presented to Ted and Leslie Belden of Fayetteville. He is the chairman of Lomanco Inc. of Jacksonville. She serves the Presbytery of Arkansas as its temporary stated clerk. The award recognizes individuals and public officials that through interest, activity and concern with the profession of architecture have advanced the cause of good planning and design and/or contributed to the dignity and value of the architectural profession.


Leave a Comment