AMP News Nonprofit Politics

Lineups Announced for 4th Annual Legislative Charity Basketball Game — UPDATED

This post has been updated since its original publication on March 8. 

Members of the Arkansas House of Representatives and Arkansas Senate will square off in Hoops for Kids’ Sake, the fourth annual bipartisan legislative charity basketball game TONIGHT, March 15.

The game will be at the Jack Stephens Center on the University of Arkansas at Little Rock campus.

All proceeds benefit the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Arkansas, Boys & Girls Club of Bryant and Boys & Girls Club of Saline County. The game has already raised more than $110,000, including more than $30,000 this year, for the organizations over the game’s history.

The House has won the first three contests.

“As the undefeated three-time champions of the Hoops for Kids Sake trophy, we are looking forward to our fourth straight victory,” said Arkansas House Speaker Jeremy Gillam. “But as much as we enjoy beating the Senate, we know the biggest victory is raising money for these organizations that do so much for our youth.”

Tickets for $10 are available at the door. Doors open at 6 p.m.

“The opportunity to support these kids is something that always gets the Senate players excited to play hard,” said Senate President Tempore Jonathan Dismang. “This year is a must-win game for us, so don’t be surprised to see some new moves and additions from our side.”

House Team Roster

Governor Asa Hutchinson will join the undefeated House team this year.

The House roster also includes Representatives Rick Beck, Charles Blake, Justin Boyd, David Branscum, Bruce Cozart, Jim Dotson, Lance Eads, Les Eaves, Speaker Jeremy Gillam, Michelle Gray, Kim Hendren, Jack Ladyman, Mark Lowery, Reginald Murdock, Mathew Pitsch, Chris Richey, Marcus Richmond, Matthew Shepherd, Dan Sullivan, Clarke Tucker, DeAnn Vaught and John Vines.

Celebrity players and media personalities include former Razorback D.J. Williams, former A-State Red Wolves Freddy Hicks and Micah Marsh. KATV-7 sports anchor Steve Sullivan will serve as honorary coach.

Senate Team Roster

The Senate roster includes Senators Alan Clark, Linda Chesterfield, Linda Collins-SmithJohn Cooper, Joyce Elliott, Jane EnglishBart Hester, Jeremy HutchinsonKeith Ingram, Missy IrvinBlake Johnson, Bruce MalochBobby Pierce, Bill Sample, David Sanders, Gary Stubblefield, Larry Teague, Eddie Joe Williams, Jon Woods, Senate staffer Andy Goodman and Arkansas Economic Development Commission director Mike Preston. Senate President Pro Tempore Jonathan Dismang will serve as team captain.

Celebrity players and media personalities for the Senate include former Arkansas Razorbacks Scotty Thurman and Blake Eddins, along with KATV-7’s Janelle Lilley, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette reporter Spencer Willems and KARK-4/KLRT-Fox 16 reporter and Capitol View host Drew Petrimoulx. THV11 sports anchor Mary Dunleavy will serve as the honorary coach.

Celebrity Announcers and Entertainment

RJ Hawk, 103.7 The Buzz producer and high school sports coordinator, play-by-play voice of Henderson State Reddies basketball and color analyst for Henderson State Reddies football, will provide pre-game introductions and live-game interviews. Arkansas Business online editor Lance Turner and former Governor Mike Beebe spokesman Matt DeCample will provide commentary. MaKayla Shipe of the Boys and Girls Club of Bryant will sing the national anthem.

Leave a Comment