AMP News Business

Little Rock Touchdown Club Reveals 2018 Speakers

touchdown club

On Tuesday, the Little Rock Touchdown Club revealed its 2018 speakers at a news conference in the Simmons Tower lobby in downtown Little Rock. David Bazzel, the club’s president and an inductee into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame, announced that University of Arkansas head football coach Chad Morris will kick off the club’s 15th anniversary season on Monday, Aug. 20, at the Embassy Suites Hotel in west Little Rock.

Simmons Bank is the lead sponsor of the Little Rock Touchdown Club for a fifth consecutive season. The Little Rock Touchdown Club serves as the Arkansas chapter for the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame.

“Today highlights a very special relationship between the Little Rock Touchdown Club and Simmons Bank,” said George Makris, the chairman and CEO of Simmons First National Corp. “This club is one of Arkansas’ premier sports organizations, led by one of Arkansas’ greatest ambassadors, and Simmons is proud to be a part of connecting football fans across our state.”

touchdown club

Simmons Bank

The Little Rock Touchdown Club meets at Embassy Suites, located at 11301 Financial Centre Parkway in Little Rock. Membership dues start at $75 and can be paid online at Lunch is served at 11 a.m. each week with the program beginning at 11:50 a.m.

The Little Rock Touchdown Club began in August 2004 when a small group gathered at what was formerly the Little Rock Hilton to discuss football. The club now has more than 400 members.

Other speakers for 2018 include:

Monday, Aug. 27: Rawleigh Williams III – Arkansas

Tuesday, Sept. 4: “Mean” Joe Greene – Pittsburgh Steelers

Monday, Sept. 10: Hugh Freeze – Ole Miss, Arkansas State

Monday, Sept. 17: Hunter Yurachek – Arkansas

Monday, Sept. 24: Ed “Too Tall” Jones – Dallas Cowboys

Monday, Oct. 1: Blake Anderson – Arkansas State

Monday, Oct. 8: Larry Csonka – Miami Dolphins

Monday, Oct. 15: Earl Campbell – Houston Oilers

Monday, Oct. 22: Nathan Brown – UCA

Monday, Oct. 29: Steve Atwater – Denver Broncos

Monday, Nov. 5: SWC Hall of Fame Induction

This will mark the fourth consecutive year for the club to host the Arkansas inductions into the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame, which is headquartered in Waco, Texas.

Monday, Nov. 12: Mack Brown – Texas, James Street Award

Monday, Nov. 19: Jim Mora – Atlanta Falcons, UCLA


Thursday, Jan. 10: Barry Sanders – Detroit Lions

touchdown club

2018 Touchdown Club Speakers

Check out this month’s digital issue of Arkansas Money & Politics.

Leave a Comment